May Day! May Day! Sugar High

I was slow to re-order my Plexus Slim and left a several day gap without any.  The scientist in me was eager to see how my sugars would react….

We took my husband’s high schoolers on a camping retreat.  At 29 weeks pregnant, I was only expected to come and corral our two children and had very few “duties.”  Usually I like to be in the kitchen for events like this but that was assigned to other parents.  The breakfast menu was (sugar) cereal, whole milk, and bananas. This is a bit different than my normal “green” protein smoothie and eggs, but I’m a sucker for cereal and I was camping-hungry (you know what I mean), so I had two bowls of cereal (one honey nut cheerios and one cinnamon toast crunch).  It was glorious.

KEEP IN MIND THIS IS WITHOUT PLEXUS SLIM IN MY SYSTEM- IT HAD BEEN THREE DAYS SINCE LAST DOSE.  An hour later on our hike I felt funny.  Took my blood sugar:  225.  Then another hour later (the classic “2 hours post” reading):  335.  335!?!?!?!  The last time I saw a number over 300 was during my glucose tolerance test.  This is enough to send pre-diabetic into a fit of worry.  I looked at Adam and said “Experiment over, I’m starting back on Plexus tomorrow.”

So there you have it – evidence during my “on” month and evidence during my 3-day gap.  I think I’ll just stick with it now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment